life of the beast

I’m wearing the ring.

I’ve been wondering when I should start “actually blogging” here and not just posting poetry. Also as the weeks have gone by, I’ve been keeping myself from starting as no topic I’ve thought of has been “good enough”. As the creation of this blog represents a beginning of sorts for me, it makes sense to start the personal posts with another personal beginning: On the Saturday of Dragon*Con, 2016, my boyfriend of one year asked me to marry him. We were outside in our Gravity Falls cosplay (he was Bill, I was Dipper), watching the Dragon*Con parade go by with our friend Cody (they were a casual Tracer from Overwatch), when he gently took me aside and I KNEW it was coming I KNEW this was it.

And it was. He presented me with a beautiful ring (a silver tree branch with an opal, perfection) and asked me to marry him and I said yes. I’m actually really glad he didn’t go down on one knee, as this would have prompted the people around us to simultaneously lose their flippin’ minds, and I didn’t want that. I wanted his proposal to just be our moment, and it was. No need getting massive amounts of people involved; I may be poly but it’s him I want to marry.

I asked him, “Okay, knowing everything you know about me…are you super sure?” and he said he was. Also Cody knew ahead of time and was filming the moment as it happened. I’m so glad it was recorded.

I love him so much and I can’t wait to be his spouse.

Standard

Leave a Reply

