challenges

My dream wedding…?

So my fiancee asked me to marry him in front of the parade at Dragon*Con 2016. I wish I had a quarter for every time I’ve heard “So when are you two gonna get married?” :/ The answer is: when we bloody well please. 

More accurately, we want it to be about a year-long engagement, AND I want to have my top surgery before I get married. So I haven’t given the thing much thought.

That being said, I’m reasonably certain I want there to be trees. With fairy lights all up in there, for an extra-magical atmosphere. 

I want one of my co-workers to sing at my wedding (yep, if you’re reading this, that means you, Yoshi). 

The bottom line with what I want out of the whole wedding thing is just a big-ass party with delicious cake and quality (like top-shelf) booze and sick music, all for the purposes of showing how much Gabe and I love each other. 

Another vital component: I want to be beautiful and wearing something fabulous; I want to turn some heads.

If I didn’t care about any of the above, I’d just drive us down to the courthouse tomorrow and get us married. But I’m pagan and poly and I LOVE pageantry, so these things must be taken into account. 

I definitely want something symbolizing openness, you know? Like yes, I’m binding myself to this man for life, which will remain true and hold fast until I die, but that doesn’t mean he’s the only one I have playtime with (just so you know, the poly thing has DEFINITELY been discussed, and was brought up [by me] when he proposed [just to make sure it’s all cool!]). 

Also I’m kind of a symbolism enthusiast, so I’m sure my pagan influences are going to inform some if not all of the stylistic choices I make with my wedding.

Standard

Leave a Reply

